“What thou seest, write in a book, and send it unto the seven churches which are in Asia; unto Ephesus, and unto Smyrna, and unto Pergamos, and unto Thyatira, and unto Sardis, and unto Philadelphia, and unto Laodicea.” Revelation 1:11
Turkey is hosts all seven of the churches mentioned in the opening chapters of the Book of Revelation. At the time the book was written around 100 AD, the churches were located in Asia Minor during the era of the Roman Empire. In the opening chapter of Revelation, the author John send his greetings then describes a vision he had in Patmos. John's vision began with specific messages to seven different Christian communities in modern Turkey. Some are addressed to the "angel" of the city. It may have symbolized the spirit of the city or refer to a heavenly or earthly messenger. Paul has send seven letters to the people and angels of these seven churches. The purpose of the letters was to grant hope and assurance to the people who were about to encounter persecutions and austerity.
These seven churches mentioned are, Ephesus, Smyrna,Pergamum, Thyatira, Sardis, Philadelphia and Laodicea and have a crucial spiritual significance for churches and believers today.